Elmwood Junior Giants 1957–1961

The Elmwood Giants Junior Baseball Club was one of the dominant teams of the 50’s. They won Championships in every 5 year span.

The 1957-61 group appeared in five consecutive junior finals winning three championships. In 1957 they lost a best of seven final in the last game to the Colombus Club. In 1958 and 1959 they defeated CUAC and lost in the final to Columbus Club in 1960.

They defeated Isaac Brock in the 1961 Junior final. Over this period they also joined with the Elmwood Seniors to win numerous tournaments.They often had to enter under a false name such as Rathwell, to be accepted into tournaments.

The nucleus of this team was a part of a great minor program in the early 1950’s that included two bantam, two midget and two juvenile Provincial Championships.

Key players such as Ken Tresoor, Ray Hoskins, Clint Hoskins, Norm Rogoski and Ken Ingram played key roles in their championship years. During this time, the teams were coached by Bob Smith, Al Tresoor, Bob Reid, Mike Wachnuk, Ray Hoskins, Dennis Halford and George Dillbury as Manager.

Vita Cubs 1955–1960

Prior to 1955, during and after this six period, the Cubs played extensively in tournament baseball and enjoyed considerable success. In 1955, the Cubs joined the States Dominion League and were Champions of the League, which consisted of Dominion City, Grunthal, Tolstoi, Woodmore, Rosa, Ridgeville And St. Pierre.

In the following year, they were pennant winners in the same League. In 1957, they joined the NW States League, then in 1958 the Cubs joined the new South East Border League, won the pennant, but lost to Grunthal in the finals.

In 1959, they won the League Championship and in 1960, they lost to Tolstoi in the League Finals.

Waskada Orioles 1971–1976

The Waskada Orioles won the South West League crown in 1971, ’73, ’75, and ’76. They were perennial provincial and Western Canada Senior AA contenders.

The team won silver medals in 1979 and Lloydminister, and bronze medals at the 1976 Manitoba Games in Neepawa.

The Orioles won many tournaments in Southwest Manitoba, in Saskatchewan at Redvers, Alida Storthoakes, Wawota and in Lansford, North Dakota.

Morden Mohawks 1987–1992

The Mohawks entered the Border League in 1970. The League consisted of teams from Pilot Mound, Crystal City, Clearwater, Mather, Cartwright, Snowflake, Manitou, Kaleda, Winkler, and the Dogers and Mohawks from Morden.

The Mohawks were League Champions in 5 out of 6 years and finalists in 1989. The team was lead by DOug Hamm and Darrell McElroy and coached by Joe Wiwchar.

The team represented the Border League in the 5 years they were League Champions in the Provincial AA Championships. The team also participated in many tournaments at towns within the League.

Barry Wowk

Barry Wowk played with Angusville Cardinals from 1974-83, Souris Cardinals in 1984 and 86, and the Brandon Cloverleafs from 1987-91. Barry served as coach/manager for the following Team Manitoba teams: in the Western Canadian’s at Brandon in 1991, Kamloops in 1992 and Red Deer in 1994. Barry served as President of the M.S.B.L. from 1997 to the present and was selected to the M.S.B.L. Honour Society in 1999 and the MBA Honour Society in 2002. Barry was a player/manager of the Simplot Millenium Baseball Park in 2000-01 and continues to be a very active baseball catcher for various Canadian and U.S. teams in competitions in Arizona, Florida, and Puerto Rico.

Ellis Woods

Ellis played in M.S.B.L. for 22 years with the Hamiota Red Sox and had a batting average of .272 and was named to all star team six times and never at the same position (2nd, C, 3rd, OF & Utility). Ellis won Manitoba title in 1964 and 1979 and won three provincial minor crowns with Hamiota in 1957,60, and 66. Woods played with Team Toba in Western Canadians at North Battleford in 1974 and was a team leader in developing computer programs at the Midget Nationals in Stonewall and at the 1999 Pan Am Games. Woods also coached the Shoal Lake high school basketball tour of Finland and Sweden in 1980’s and served the Winnipeg High School Hockey League as scheduler, Statistian and Commissioner.

Wayne Poole

Wayne was a good hitting first sacker for 29 years and was with McAuley M.S.B.L. senior teams for 17 years. Wayne was first team all star three times from 1974-76, and was second team all star 4 times in 1977,79,80 and 82. He was with the Manitoba Champions in 1975 and 1987 and played several times with Team Manitoba and won National bronze in 1976. He served as secretary for the M.B.A from 1987-90. Wayne was president of the Border League from 1987-90 and vice president of M.S.B.L. from 1992-97 and also had administrative and coaching assignments with bantam and midget developmental teams in the Westman region for a number of years. Wayne received the 1988 Canadian Government Celebrations Coaches Medal and was also very active as a hockey player and hockey administrator in the McAuley area.

Shane Moffatt

Shane Moffatt was one of the most dominant senior players in Manitoba for more than 20 years. He was an outstanding shortstop, pitcher and hitter and he played for Portage and Carman in the Red-Boine League, Souris, Brandon, and Birtle in the Manitoba Senior League. Shane led the Carman Goldeyes of the Red-Boine league to five Manitoba titles in six years from 1983-86 and was on nine provincial championship teams. He won with the Brandon Cloverleafs in 1996 and the Birtle Blue Jays in 2000, 2002, 2004. Shane also won the Manitoba Baseball Association’s Senior Player of the year in 1987, 1996, 1998, and 2000 ¨ Was on a M.S.B.L. first all star team nine times. He was a three time winner of the loops top pitcher award in 1993 at 6-1; 1998 at 8-1; and 2000 at 7-0. Also won 4 top pitcher awards with the Red-Boine League, where he also was named the Rookie of the Year in 1984. Shane was named the M.S.B.L. League MVP in 1998 and 2000 and on three other occasions with the Red-Boine League. He also won the league play off MVP on six occasions, ten including those won in the Red-Boine league. He was also a member of the league champion teams eight times and Was named to M.S.B.L. 40 year all star team in 2000. Shane was selected to Manitoba’s 20th century all star team as a utility player, and is the son of inductee Barry Moffatt.

Barry Moffatt

Barry was a speedy left fielder and a good lead off left handed hitter. He started with Souris Cards in 1955 at age 16 and then moved to Riverside Canucks in 1960, and spent nine years in the M.S.B.L. Barry was on the first all star team in 1963 and 68 and on the second all star team in 1965-66-67. He was the league batting champion in 1969 (.481) and he hit safely in all 24 league games in 1969 and led the league in three categories in 1963 and 69. Barry was a player with M.S.B.L. all stars in the Manitoba and Western Canada Champions in 1968 and was the July 1st champion at Birtle in 1969. Moffatt was also an excellent hockey player who died of a fractured skull while playing with the Souris Elks.

Rick McFadyen

Rick played for 20 years in the M.S.B.L. with the Brandon Cloverleafs. He was a powerful pitcher and hitter and was on a first all star team 11 times, and a second all star team 4 times. Rick was M.S.B.L’s top pitcher in 1983 (8-1) and 1984 (5-1) with a lifetime record of 43-22 and a lifetime batting average of .328 and was the batting champion in 1975 (.418), League MVP in 1983 and play off MVP in 1980. Rick was selected as a pitcher for M.S.B.L. 40 year all star team in 2000. He played on five Manitoba Champions and helped Manitoba win the silver medal at the 1973 Baseball Canada Championship.