• HometownWinnipeg, MB
  • Inducted2008

The Elmwood Giants Junior Baseball Club was one of the dominant teams of the 50’s. They won Championships in every 5 year span.

The 1957-61 group appeared in five consecutive junior finals winning three championships. In 1957 they lost a best of seven final in the last game to the Colombus Club. In 1958 and 1959 they defeated CUAC and lost in the final to Columbus Club in 1960.

They defeated Isaac Brock in the 1961 Junior final. Over this period they also joined with the Elmwood Seniors to win numerous tournaments.They often had to enter under a false name such as Rathwell, to be accepted into tournaments.

The nucleus of this team was a part of a great minor program in the early 1950’s that included two bantam, two midget and two juvenile Provincial Championships.

Key players such as Ken Tresoor, Ray Hoskins, Clint Hoskins, Norm Rogoski and Ken Ingram played key roles in their championship years. During this time, the teams were coached by Bob Smith, Al Tresoor, Bob Reid, Mike Wachnuk, Ray Hoskins, Dennis Halford and George Dillbury as Manager.


Members: Don Borys, Al Bosiak, Bruce Chudley, Mac Gordon, Dennis Halford, Clint Hoskins, Ray Hoskins, Jerry Kruk, Gord Lowry, Bill McLennan, Lorne Norburn, Bob Reid, Norm Rogoski, Ray Shuel, Bob Smith, Doug Smith, George Tillbury, Al Tresoor, Ken Tresoor, Tom Trosky, Frank Urso, Mike Washnuk