1967 Canadian Pan Am Games Team

This team included eight Manitobans. They were coaches Gerry MacKay (Brandon) and Gladwyn Scott (Carman), players Gene Cory (Riverside), Bob Hunter (Transcona), Cam Hurst (Transcona), Maurice Oakes (Brandon), Al Robertson (Hamiota), Glennis Scott (Miami). The team trained in Brandon and played exhibition games in Western Manitoba. It was the first truly Canadian national team. Teams in the tournament were Canada, Cuba, the United States, Mexico, Puerto Rico. The highlight came with the 10-9 victory over the Cubans in a game at Carman. This was Cuba’s first loss in twelve years of international competition.

McConnell 1949–54

Perennial contenders in the Mid-West League and a great tournament team. Averaged about 65 games a year and only about 10 losses. Had a strong group of pitchers including Murray Richardson, Ross Pollock, Harold Pollock, Ray Asselstine, Gladwyn Scott, Glennis Scott. The main catcher for 25 years was Jim Scott (Sr.) Special events included playing the travelling (Negro) Muskogee (Oklahoma) Cardinals at Rossburn, playing the tough Holar (Saskatchewan) team at Russell, and playing in the 1955 Indian Head tournament with $1,000 as the top prize.

St Boniface Native Sons 1955–1959

The Native Sons were formed in 1932 and terminated operations in 1998. In the six years, from 1953-1958, they won the Winnipeg Senior League crown five times. They were known as the Yankees of the west. In the 1950’s they won the Senior League title seven times in nine years, losing in the finals the other two years. They were talented at all positions. Among the prominent players, 1953-1958, were pitchers Ed Mazur, Bruce Pell, Bruce Jones, John Robertson, Joe Baron, and Pete Rettie, catchers Bruce Hudson and Don Collins, outfielders Ken Little, Gord Simpson, Reg Chopp, and Ray Hayes, infielders Jim Zarie, Al Johnson, Bob Hansford, Ken Ridley, and Fred Dunsmore, coaches Terry Hind and Doug McGhee.

Blessed with a depth of talent in all positions the Native Sons won the Greater Winnipeg Senior League crown five times in the six year span and became known as the Yeankees of the local senior circuit. They won the Leage also in 1951 and were finalists in 1952 and 1954. Some team members included Bruce Hudson and Don Collins (catcher), Ed Mazur, Bruce Pell, Bruce Jones, John Robertson, Joe Baron, Pete Rettiel, Garnet Boutet (pitchers), Ken Little, Gord Simpson, Reg Chopp, Ray Hayes (outfields, Jim Zarie, Al Johnson, Bob Hansford, Ken Ridley, Fred Dunsmore (infielders), Terry Hind, Doug McGee (coaches). The Native Sons were formed in 1932 and terminated in 1998.

Ernie Boushy

Ernie was born in Gilbert Plains and played with the Dauphin Redbirds from 1948-51, the Carman Cardinals of the ManDak League in 1952, and in Welch, West Virginia in the Appalachian League in 1953. Ernie also played in Lancaster, Pennsylvania in the Piedmont League in 1954. Boushy was the batting champion in 1953 in the Appalachian League, but could not expect to move up from minor leagues, so he returned home to Swan River in 1955. In the 1960s Boushy was a very prominent curler, and skipped rink to four provincial and two national mixed titles in 1955.

Mort Wright

Mort Wright played minor ball in Brandon, went to Washington Senators camp in Florida in 1953, but returned to play with Brandon Athletics, Greys, Cloverleafs. He pitched three no-hitters and played a prominent role on the Cloverleafs three Central Manitoba Baseball Association champions of 1955-57. Later Mort was playing manager of Cloverleafs teams of 1958-60, which won three more C.M.B.A. titles. After M.S.B.L. was formed, Wright managed the Cloverleafs to three straight league and provincial titles, from 1967-69. Wright later managed or assisted at Virden and at Riverside. Mort Wright retired in 1992 after 41 seasons of playing, coaching, and managing with teams that won six C.M.B.A. titles, five M.S.B.L. crowns, and two Manitoba championships.

Bob Wasslen

Bob started at age 14 and for most of the next 35 years he was catcher and often manager of the Binscarth Buffaloes-Orioles. Bob was the force behind baseball in Binscarth. In the 1960s the Binscarth club contended annually for North West League championship. Bob joined M.S.B.L. in 1972 and for next 14 years never missed the playoffs. Binscarth won M.S.B.L. four times (1972, 1977, 1982, 1984) and took two Manitoba championships. Bob also played with Balmoral Orioles and Carman Cubs in Winnipeg Senior League – he was with Carman`s 1963 city championship team. Bob coached Selkirk juniors in 1989-90. He was inducted into M.B.A. Honour Society in 1993.

Bob Thompson

Bob Thompson started senior ball at 17 years old with the St. Lazare Athletics, and after five years he joined the Brandon Cloverleafs. Bob was a member of five M.S.B.L. championship teams and played in five Canadian championship tournaments (Vancouver, Fredericton, Brandon, Kenosee Lake, Edmunston, NB). Thompson was voted MVP in M.S.B.L. in 1968, 1972, 1977. Internationally, he played with Team Canada at the Pan Am Games in 1971 and 1975, at the World Amateur Tournament in 1971 and 1972, and at the 1975 Intercontinental Cup at Moncton, NB and Montreal. Bob served as a M.B.A. clinician in 1960s and 1970s, and scouted for Toronto Blue Jays in the early years of that club.

Jim Slevin

Player/builder. Regarded as father of Brandon Cloverleafs, which began play in 1946 and was first team inducted into Manitoba Baseball Hall of Fame. From 1951 to 1958 he was manager, recruiter, accountant, league representative, virtually everything, including player. He was a great catcher, .300 hitter, good base runner, outstanding leader. Helped Carman Cubs win Winnipeg Senior title in 1963. Was also a top fastball player with Brandon A.N.A.F. Vets and Winnipeg Kiewels. Excellent basketball and hockey player, was Western Manitoba Athlete of the Year in 1954. Now plays slow pitch softball with Manitoba ReMax 65+ who won World Championships in 1998.

Ray Simms

Ray started senior ball with coach John Mansell at Foxwarren in 1952, played in Darlingford in 1953, then with Neepawa Cubs from 1954-56 where he was an all-star pitcher. Ray went on to play in the Parochial League with St. Mary`s, 1957-61, with St. Lazare Athletes from 1963 to 1968 (M.S.B.L. champs in 1963). Ray redesigned the Birtle ball diamond, and helped lay foundation for Birtle Blue Jays. Simms initiated the popular M.S.B.L. July 1st tournament, and served on the executive of the first two Manitoba High Schools provincial tournaments. Simms was a long time M.S.B.L. director, schedule maker, and President in 1979-80. Ray received a M.S.B.L. life membership in 1985, and the Ab Richardson Award for dedication, sportmanship, and long time service to baseball.

Graeme Shaw

Shaw was a speedy centre fielder with Cardale Maroons for ten years throughout the 1940s and 1950s when tournament ball flourished. Graeme also coached baseball in Cardale for 25 years. Shaw`s highlights were a gold medal at Calgary in Western Canada Midget Championships in 1968, a silver medal at Westlock, Alberta, in Western Canada Bantam Championship in 1971, and a silver medal at Barrhead, Alberta in National Midget Championships in 1973. For more than 50 years he has helped organize Cardale`s annual sports day. Shaw has also helped to maintain one of the best natural ball parks in Manitoba, which is used for many M.B.A. championship events. Graeme Shaw was inducted into the M.B.A. Honour Society in 1993.