This team included eight Manitobans. They were coaches Gerry MacKay (Brandon) and Gladwyn Scott (Carman), players Gene Cory (Riverside), Bob Hunter (Transcona), Cam Hurst (Transcona), Maurice Oakes (Brandon), Al Robertson (Hamiota), Glennis Scott (Miami). The team trained in Brandon and played exhibition games in Western Manitoba. It was the first truly Canadian national team. Teams in the tournament were Canada, Cuba, the United States, Mexico, Puerto Rico. The highlight came with the 10-9 victory over the Cubans in a game at Carman. This was Cuba’s first loss in twelve years of international competition.


Front Row: Gerry MacKay, coach (Brandon), Bob McKillop (Kitchener), Cliff Seafoot (Riverside), Maurice Oakes (Brandon), Gene Cory (Riverside), Phil Doiron (Moncton), Larry Bachiu (Regina).

Centre Row: Gladwyn Scott, coach (Carman), Irv Doerkson (Unity), Ken Ewasiuk (Edmonton), Ed Tanner (Edmonton), Bob Hunter (Transcona), Lane Jackson (Kindersley), Don Sumner (Brandon).

Back Row: Joe Zeman, manager (Saskatoon), Al Robertson (Hamiota), Ron Smith (Kitchener), Larry Wilson (Hamilton), Tom McKenzie (London), Cam Hurst (Transcona), Glennis Scott (Miami). Missing from the picture - Ross Stone (Unity), Ron Stead (Guelph).