• HometownSteinbach, MB
  • Inducted2015

The Steinbach Millers captured the La Verendrye Baseball League Championship three times during the final five seasons of the league. Victories in 1965, 1966 and 1968 were offset by close losses in the 1964 and 1967 playoffs. The 1964 Millers were undefeated in league play and were dominant in weekly tournaments before being upset in the league semi-finals.

The team featured a tight defence, strong pitching from both sides and timely hitting while using only players from the local area. With the demise of the La Verendrye League at the end of the 1968 season, the Millers went on to play in the much stronger Manitoba Senior A Baseball League Eastern Division in 1969, marking the 30th consecutive season of Senior baseball in Steinbach.


Front Row (Left-Right): Glen Schmitke, Wes Reimer, Dave Smith, Mike Mutcheson, Rick Hefford, Pete Peters

Back Row (Left-Right): Jonas Goossen (manager), Dennis Guenther, Brian Reimer, Marv Hollender, Ralph Rempel, C.P. Hiebert, Ray Rosner