• HometownFisher Branch, MB
  • Inducted2007

The Fisher Branch Falcons were a very good small community team which excelled in tournament baseball.

Their best season was in 1957 when they won $1600 in prize money by winning 13 of 14 tournaments at Lundar, Eriksdale, Arborg, Ashern, Teulon, Chatfield, Fisher Branch, Beausejour, Hodgson, Oak Point, Moosehorn, Poplarfield, and Keewatin.

The team was managed by Metro Melnyk who kept the team together with strict expectations and led by pitchers like John Obelnicki and Deb Mealey.


Inserts (L-R): Bill Kartushyn, Peter Kapusta, Steve Grywinski, Joe Pawlyk, George Savage, Don Hoerle, Ted Malenchak, Delbert Mealy, Walter Derkach, Metro Labchuk, Rene Rivard, Norman Klowak, Harry Beck, Frank Skibinski
Top Row: John Obelnicki, Harry Malkowich, Paul Kuryk, Myrs Kubas, Vic Watson
Bottom Row: Ron Anderson, John Kuryk, Chubby Barrett, Freddie Schmidt, Metro Melnyk (Coach)