The All American Girls Professional Baseball League was a league that operated in cities located on or near Lake Michigan. It began in 1943. The main promoter was Philip Wrigley, owner of the Chicago Cubs, who was worried about the viability of (men’s) pro baseball during World War Two, and decided to establish an alternate attraction. The league lasted until 1954. Over the years the rules, equipment, and style of play in the league changed from softball to baseball (for example, the size of the ball at the beginning was 12″ in circumference, but at the end it was 9 ¼”). Twelve girls from Manitoba played in the league. All of them were inducted into the Baseball’s Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York, in 1988. They were inducted into the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame at St. Mary’s, Ontario on June 4, 1998.

Twelve girls from Manitoba played in the league which included Dodie Barr, Eleanor (Knudson) Callow, Audrey (Haine) Daniers, Ruth (Middleton) Gentry, Dorothy Hunter, Dottie (Ferguson) Key, Mary (Shastal) Kustra, Olive (Bend) Little, Evelyn (Wawryshyn) Moroz, Joan Schatz, Yolande (Teillet) Schick, and Doris (Shero) Witiuk.